Dear Bean – August 10, 2011

Hey there, my little Bean!

Remember me, your Dad? Truth is I’ve been silent for a while, neglecting my duty of passing along some fatherly advice. Sure, much of that time has been spent preparing our home for you, but that’s no excuse. I know that I need to take advantage of this time and do my best to impart some wisdom before you arrive. So let’s get back at it, shall we?

One of many hopes I have for you, Little One, is that you learn to be satisfied with who you are. Be comfortable in your own skin. Love the gifts you are given. Embrace the weaknesses as well as your strengths, because they all help to make you you.

You’ll find that so many people never get there. They always want what they don’t have, and live their lives trying to compensate for it. They search for reasons not to like who they are. And all too often it robs them of their happiness. It’s a sad way to live, so do your best not to fall into that trap.

Instead, be content. Be confident. Be joyful in the way you are because it is just the way you were meant to be. Sure, you can always work to make yourself stronger, smarter, more beautiful. But know if you’re not happy with who you are before, you won’t be happy with who you are after. And always know that your Mother and I will love you for all that you are.

Always,
Dad

~ by jckingma on August 11, 2011.

Leave a comment